Bayimba Large Leaderboard
Editor's PicksEntertainmentMusic

Kim Nana’s ‘Podium’ wins at HiPipo Awards

- Advertisement -

Jinja based dancehall artiste, Kim Nana, beat off competition from 5 other Eastern artistes to win the 2019 HiPipo Music Awards Best Song from Eastern Region accolade for Podium. This makes it the first national award for the now 3-years-in-business artiste.

Born Dauda Mayombo, Kim Nana got onto the music scene a few years back but shot to prominence in 2016 when he performed at Queen’s Palace’s 3rd anniversary. The rest has since then been history as he has continued to out music and grace stages across the region.

It is no wonder the budding lad was nominated and also went on to win in a category that had Afande Kadabada, Byg Ben Sukuya, Genious Drey, Kmas Wandyembe and Via Kalikwani; all big names in the Eastern region.

Here is the full list of the 8th HiPipo Music Awards winners


  1. Africa’s Number 1: Diamond Platinumz
  2. Africa Best Male Artiste: Diamond Platinumz
  3. Africa Best Female Artiste: Tiwa Savage
  4. Africa Song of The Year: Malwedhe – King Monada
  5. Africa Video of The Year: Gringo – Shatta Wale
  6. Best Francophone Africa Act: Mannequin – Fally Ipupa ft. Keblack & Naza
  7. Best Song from Western Africa: Assurance – Davido
  8. Best Song from Southern Africa: Malwedhe – King Monada
  9. Best Lusophone Africa Act: Eu Pago – Mr. Bow
  10. Africa Fans Favorite Fresh Talent: Natacha (Burundi)
  11. Africa Must Watch AfroPop Artiste: Yovi (Nigeria)
  12. Africa RnB Maestro: Roberto (Zambia)
  13. Africa Hip-Hop Maestro: Sarkodie and Navio
  14. Africa Best Group: Sauti Sol
  15. Song of The Year Kenya: Short N Sweet – Sauti Sol ft. Nyashinski
  16. Song of The Year Tanzania: Mvumo Wa Radi – Alikiba
  17. Song of The Year Rwanda: Mbaye Wowe – Passy ft. Butera Knowless
  18. Rwanda Video of The Year: Blocka – Bruce Melodie
  19. Tanzania Video of The Year: Hodari – Mbosso
  20. Kenya Video of The Year: Wonka – Victoria Kiman
  21. East Africa Super Hit: Kwangwaru – Harmonize ft. Diamond Platinumz
  22. East Africa Best Video: Wet – Vanessa Mdee ft. Gnako
  23. Best Global Act: Joanita Zachariassen


  1. Artiste of The Year: Sheebah
  2. Best Female Artiste: Sheebah
  3. Best Male Artiste: David Lutalo
  4. Best Duo/Group: Voltage Music (Kent & Flosso)
  5. Best Breakthrough Artiste: Nina Roz and Chosen Becky
  6. Best A Cappella Group: Jehovah Shalom
  7. Must Watch Male Talent: John Blaq
  8. Must Watch Female Talent: Nshuti S. Mbabazi
  9. Best DJ: Dj Slick Stuart & Dj Roja
  10. Album of The Year: Omwooyo – Sheebah
  11. Video of The Year: Nsambila Nyuma Nga Janzi – Irene Namatovu
  12. Song of The Year: Kyarenga – Bobi Wine
  13. Best Audio Producer: Nessim
  14. Best Video Director: Nolton and George (NG Filmz)
  15. Best Song Writer: Dokta Brain
  16. Best Hip-Hop/Rap Song: Who Is Who – Feffe Bussi
  17. Best R&b Song: Obeera Wa – Cosign
  18. Best Soul Song: Nkwegomba – Kenneth Mugabi
  19. Best Ragga/Dancehall Song: You and Me – Lydia Jazmine & Daddy Andre
  20. Best Reggae Song: Nvuuma – Naava Grey
  21. Best Band Song: Kisaaganda – Chris Evans Kaweesi & Maureen Nantume
  22. Best Contemporary Folk Song: Nsambila Nyuma – Irene Namatovu
  23. Best Kadongo Kamu Song: Tufumba Fekka – Jackie Kizito
  24. Best Zouk Song: Bankunza – Chosen Becky
  25. Best Afrobeat Song: Wankona – Sheebah
  26. Best Afro Pop Song: Chips Na Ketchup – Vinka
  27. Best Social Message: Akambe – Maureen Nantume
  28. Super Diva Stand Out Act: Matala – Winnie Nwagi
  29. Best School Act: Welcome To My World – Kyaddondo S.S. Matugga
  30. Best Religious Song: Omwezi Guno – Swahaba Kasumba
  31. Best Gospel Song: Turn The Replay – Levixone
  32. Best Gospel Video: Mbu Ndi Lubuto – Baby Gloria
  33. Best Religious Video: Subhanallah – Ntanda Umar Samir
  34. Written Record Of The Year: Property – Fik Fameica
  35. Best Artiste In Diaspora: Mc Norman
  36. Best Collabo: Very Well – Slick Stuart & Roja ft. King Saha
  37. Best Cross-Border Collabo: No You, No Life – B2C ft. The Ben
  38. Best On-Stage Performer: Roden Y Kabako
  39. Best Choreography: Triplet Ghetto Kids
  40. Best Song from Eastern Region: Podium – Kim Nana
  41. Best Song from Northern Region: Yata – Adong
  42. Best Song from Southern Region: Ntegedde – Lindah Blessing
  43. Best Song from Western Region: Karamu – Amani Amaniga
  44. Best Cinematography: Sconto – Fik Fameika & Wembly Mo
  45. Best MDD Act: Apaasa Paasa – Amooti Omubalanguzi
  46. Life Time Achievement Award: Annet Nandujja
  47. Video Trailblazer Award: Wakayima – Coopy Bly
  48. Decade Afro Tunes Lyricist: David Lutalo
  49. National Medal of Honor for Arts & Sports: Golola Moses
  50. Genius Producer of the Generation: Henry Kiwuwa
  51. Commendation for Social Responsibility: Ghetto King and Nick Rasta
ALSO READ  'Sauteez' Uganda’s first music streaming app launched

The 8th HiPipo Music Awards that happened last night in Kampala at the Kampala Serena Hotel were themed to celebrate music’s best and shine the spotlight on every nominee for a good job done

From us to you, congratulations to you Kim Nana and to all the winners.

- Advertisement -
Show More

Skizar Writers

We are here to provide you with the best entertainment in Jinja: news, celebrity gossip, music, humor, reviews or anything else that Jinja has to offer for your entertainment.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker