Khalid Aucho joins history ranks as Desabre names AFCON final squad

As different national team coaches are announcing their final 23-man squads for the most-prized football competition on the continent, Uganda Cranes coach Sébastien Desabre has today (Tuesday 11th June 2019) named the team that will represent the over 40 million Ugandans in Egypt come 21st June 2019.

While in camp in the United Arab Emirates, the French coach didn’t shock today many when he announced most of the expected names on the squad with injury woes ruling out a few players like elastic Midfielder Moses Waiswa and Alexis Bakka.

For a surprise, Jinja-bred Midfielder Kahlid Aucho is one of the 14 players to get into the history books for making it to the final team twice in-a-row to the final teams.

The Busoga Province and Churchill Brothers S.C. hard-tackling midfield General together with the three goalies in Denis Onyango, Salim Jamal Magoola, and Robert Ondokara, without-a-club Hassan Wasswa and Godfrey Walusimbi, Azam’s Nicholas Wadada, TP Mazembe’s Joseph Ochaya, Murushid Juuko from Simba FC, USA-based Mike Azira, Luwaga Kizito from Shakhtor Karagandy, and HNK Gorica’s Miya Farouk were all in Gabon in 2017 and are now going to Egypt.

Uganda Cranes final 23-man Team

Goalkeepers: Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Jamal Salim (Al Hilal-Sudan), and Robert Odongkara (Adama City, Ethiopia).

“To date, Uganda’s best performance in AFCON goes way back in 1978 where IT lost to Ghana in the finals.”

Defenders: Nico Wakiro Wadada (Azam, Tanzania), Brian Ronald Ddungu Mukiibi (Ostersunds, Sweden), Murushid Jjuuko (Simba, Tanzania), Bevis Mugabi (Yeovil Town, England), Isaac Muleme (FK Viktoria Zizkov, Czech Republic), Hassan Wasswa Mawanda (Unattached), Joseph Ochaya (TP Mazembe, DR Congo), Timothy Denis Awanyi (KCCA FC, Uganda), and Godfrey Walusimbi (Unattached).

ALSO READ  UGANDA: Kenyan singer Nameless and comedian Eric Omondi to headline Comedy Store tonight

Midfielders: Mike Azira (Montreal Impact, Canada), Allan Kateregga (Maritzburg, South Africa), William Kizito Luwagga (Shakhter Karagandy, Kazakhstan), Khalid Aucho (Church Hill Brothers, India), Farouk Miya (HNK Gorica, Croatia), Abdul Lumala (Syrianska, Sweden), and Tadeo Lwanga (Vipers SC-Uganda).

Strikers: Patrick Henry Kaddu (KCCA FC, Uganda), Derrick Nsibambi (Smouha, Egypt), Allan Kyambadde (KCCA FC Uganda), Emmanuel Arnold Okwi (Simba, Tanzania).

Uganda Cranes will play it’s last build-up game against Côte d’Ivoire this Saturday before traveling to Egypt where they will play D.R. Congo on 22nd June, Zimbabwe on 26th June and Egypt on 30th June 2019.

The last time Uganda Cranes appeared in the Africa Cup of Nations was in 2017 and they sadly did not go past the Group Stages where they only collected 1 point from the possible 9; the one-all draw against Mali. To date, Uganda’s best performance in AFCON goes way back in 1978 where they lost to Ghana in the finals.

Show Full Article

Matiya Oporya

Live and die for Sports; it's what makes me.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker